And it starts to sink in…..

Homesickness. They tell you it’s normal. Everyone feels it. Most pretend they don’t. I totally fall into that category – for now. It’s not like a massive thing. It’s more like I miss little things. Like spontaneous hugs. My mum and I have worked through some tough things and one thing she and I do is spontaneous hugging. Dad isn’t so bad at it either 😉 I miss that.

I kind of miss my privacy too. I mean, I always had my bedroom door open and Beth was next door to me in the attic, but here, if you leave your door open EVERYONE has to say hi as they walk past. And if they don’t, YOU have to say hi.

Making big decisions is hard too. *Being totally honest now*. I’m a little overwhelmed by the idea of finding a new church. And the CU? I missed the halls dinner/social thingy last night for Lafrowda (where I live). Probably missed out, but I feel like I’m out every night! I kind of want to focus on just finding a church first and going every Sunday, then build from there…. but worried about all the friendships being made without me? Maybe just worrying too much!

Oftentimes I play the cello when I feel like this and it makes me feel better.

I wonder if it’s an actual condition – when you’ve met so many new people that you just want to shut yourself in your room and shut the world out for a bit?

On the flip side, lectures are FABULOUS. I love Russian, we’ve really got going on the alphabet and they gave us all a new Russian name so we get into the Russian persona – I picked Sonya after my mum’s name (which happens to be the Russian version of it) – it looks like this for those interested: Соня

Awesome right? Spanish is ACE too we’re getting into lots of history, which will explain the culture behind everything 🙂 So yeah I’m happy.

But I do miss home a little tiny weeenyy bit 😉

#Feelinglikeanalien

Leave a Reply

