Mid-Week Update!

Yay halfway through Week 3 and I’m surviving 🙂 (Mostly anyway!) Good times.

I’ve been posting a few more recipes lately as I just haven’t had time to sit down and write an actual update. Which is fine. Technically my studies should come first. But I like writing… so… well… meh. (Which loosely translates as, I don’t care!)

Today has been rather eventful. I had lectures in Russian, both of which were a lot more challenging now that we are tackling verbs. And there are two types, but within these types there is a type 1A and a type 1B and a type 2A and a type 2B. Complicated, basically. I’m told when we get to something called “cases”, we’ll genuinely feel like committing suicide. Joy. (No worries, I have too much to live for 😉 ).

Other than that, we can now string together basic sentences. Which is cool right? Considering most of us literally started 2 weeks ago. I’m amazed if you aren’t.

Still haven’t managed to find a job. Oh yeah, I didn’t get the job at Coffee #1 – but it’s OK I’m still looking, I’ve applied to a bunch of other places and I’m waiting to hear.

I then met up with a lovely girl called Emily who is one of my Hall Group leaders (from the CU). She lived in Lafrowda before. It was nice to chat to someone – you know, really chat. The thing I’ve found over the last few weeks is that with most people, your conversation will be like this:

‘Hey.’

‘Hey.’

‘You ok?’

‘Yeah, you?’

‘Yeah, I’m good thanks.’

*The End*

And if you’re lucky, or have a bit more time, they’ll ask you for the bazillionth time what you’re studying, because obviously they can’t remember, they’ve met that many people over the last 3 weeks. But when you talk to a Christian, you have a genuine conversation which isn’t so superficial. Sure, I’ll probably progress with the flatmates eventually, I mean, I have to live with these people for a year. But right now, I just feel like the more solid friendships I’ve made have been with Christians. You just relax more and are able to talk about more. It’s hard to describe unless you know what I’m on about and have experienced it.

I met my form tutor – Gert. He’s actually really nice (although his stutter can be frustrating as I badly want to finish his sentences for him – it’s almost painful!). He sympathized with the whole wanting-to-actually-sleep at the weekend/party flat situation. He said that if all else fails, I can talk to him and he’ll do something about it. I’d like to see him try and turn the party down on a Saturday night at 12am. It would be funny to watch.

I’ve discovered I have even more work than I thought I did. So I need to crack on tomorrow – I have a big wedge of an afternoon so hopefully I’ll get my act together 😉

But for now…. bed. Student’s favorite place. (Other than the pub/club). Later folks 🙂

Leave a Reply

