Almond Butter

This has to be the best thing ever. And I get a whole jar to myself. Hee hee 😉
I promise myself I won’t eat it all in a week – but let’s be honest that’s almost impossible!

ALMOND BUTTER KILNER JAR

Almonds are probably the healthiest nut out there. They aren’t cheap, but I managed to get them into my budget last week and have waited for my moment to activate and blend them up!!

You activate almonds? Let me explain…. Body and Soul.com put it as

Activated nuts have been soaked in water and salt for a period of time, which starts off the germination or sprouting process, then dehydrated at a low temperature. Soaking increases the nutrient value of the nuts along with breaking down the problematic compounds that help enhance their digestibility.

Which explains it pretty well. The problematic compounds I believe are this thing called phytic acid… And it prohibits the absolute absorption of nutrients when you eat the inactivated nuts. It slows your diversion down, and can even give you a small tummy ache. The nuts seem heavier on your stomach.

I activated a load of almonds a while back and we tried them, my mum and I, and now there’s no going back. Not only do they taste better, they are crunchier and lighter on the stomach, a better experience all round!

Almonds are hard. So they have to be soaked for a minimum of 12 hours. I do mine overnight. Just wash them, and then add about a tsp salt to every cup of almonds used and add hot water first to dissolve the salt. Then add cold water until it covers the top of the almonds and they are all submerged. Leave like that.

The next morning, put your oven on a low temperature. Literally about 60 decrees C or gas 1. Then rise and drain the almonds and place them on a baking tray lined with parchment paper or tinfoil. Leave them in the oven to dry out for 12 hours. To know when they are ready, taste one. If it’s soft inside and kind of squidgy it’s not done. The slightest bit of damp can mean the almonds will go off! So make sure they are crunchy! They should have a lovely roasted flavor.

For the almond butter:

– 2 cups of (activated) almonds – normal ones will do it but you might want to roast them in a higher heat for 10 minutes so they are a bit softer.

– food processor. (Blenders can work I believe but you would probably need a high power one such as a Vitamix. I haven’t tried doing it in a Nutribullet yet.)

Put the almonds in the food processor and blend. It will be noisy! At first, the mixture will just look like powder. After a few more minutes, it will look like bread crumbs. You might need to stop the food processor and scrape the sides down a few times so all of the almonds get included.

A bit longer and the oils will begin to be released, and the mixture will begin to bind. At first it will be quite solid and dry. The longer you leave it in from this stage, the runnier and smoother it will become!

Please note **DO NOT AT ANY POINT ADD OIL OR WATER** you have to be patient with nut butters. If you add another liquid it might not become butter at all!

If you do like to add sugar/oil/etc add it at the end when you’ve reached the consistency you want.

I keep mine in a Kilner mason jar in my little student pantry (or in my room!) so keep hold of jam jars and things that you can reuse to store nut butters in.

You can make nut butter from any nut, and they can all be activated! I made Brazil nut butter the other week and it was yummy! Experiment! (Tell me how it goes too!)

Leave a Reply

