Stories over oatmeal

We don’t normally call it oatmeal here in the UK- most would just say oats or porridge. I’m quite proud of how mine turned out 🙂 

  They came out purple because I added frozen blueberries 🙂 

It’s such a warming breakfast on a chilly November day. I’ve started making it in a saucepan instead of binging them in the microwave and letting them explode over the side of the bowl 🙂 I love adding chopped banana chunks so they go soft when they cook in the oats – mmmm I could eat it all over again. 

But anyway! I managed to go to my Community Group last night! It was great – I saw my friends Josie and Izi again and the lovely Kimbers who have given me some free meals and even offered me a room on rowdy Saturday nights! I love going – last week I went to hall group instead because I’d had a massive headache all day and didn’t want to go out anywhere further than one square mile from Lafrowda 🙂 Then the  week before that I was working at the Magdalen Chapter Hotel. Next week I’m hoping to go again! it’s nice to get out of the student bubble and talk to people who normally just live and work here in Exeter.

My flat mates have been really nice to me recently. All of them! I’ve slept a lot better (when I haven’t got back late from a shift, but could also be because I’m drinking the Forever Aloe Drinking Gel which helps me sleep way deeper) and none of my food has been sabotaged. So alls well. 

I had my first “wall” moment in Russian a few days back. Have you even seen Run Fat Boy Run? It’s a comedy film with Nick Pegg in it (think that’s his name). There’s a bit where he hits the runners wall. I hit one. In my head. I didn’t want to give up Russian. But my mind went blank. And my head was like, ‘nope, it’s not going in today.’ So I copied down what my tutor wrote on the board and said in the lecture…. But I need to unpick it. Yeah – adjectives. It’s their endings. It’s so confusing! 

Fortunately, we have this Peer Assisted Learning scheme (PAL) where a second or fourth year student can help us out – and I happen to be in a group with my friend Siân and a second year genius  in Russian grammar. Lucky us! 

I’m even further behind on work due to the long shifts I had to work at the MC hotel last weekend which sucks but I’m slowly getting back on top of things. It’s been a rocky week in all honesty but thanks to some good friends and family (and some coffee dates) I’m still sane and looking on the positive side. 

Can’t believe I’m almost through my first term at uni already! Time flies…. Even when you’re not having fun. It’s something I’ve become more aware off since year eleven. Suddenly a year isn’t that long, even a day or an hour … It just goes and you can’t get it back. 

I’m gonna wrap up my update now, but for those interested here’s the recipe for the “oatmeal” i.e. porridge.

Ingredients:

5 tbsp oats

Handful of frozen blueberries

Water (~1/2-3/4 cup)

1 banana chopped into circular chunks 

1 tbsp flaxseed, ground 

1 tbsp sunflower seeds (optional)

1-2 tbsp Shredded Coconut (optional)

Cinnamon

~1/4-1/2 cup coconut milk (whole fat)

Method:

1. Put the oats, chopped banana, flaxseed and shredded coconut into a small saucepan.

2. Add coconut milk and water, and put it on to a high heat on the hob. Stir with a wooden spoon.

3. It’s done wehn its bubbling slightly and steaming 🙂 add the sunflower seeds and sprinkle some cinnamon on top.
Variations: 

– Add a handful of frozen raspberries as well.

– Instead of 5 tbsp oats do 2 tbsp coconut flour and 3 tbsp oats.

– Add 1 large tsp almond or cashew butter (I recommend Meridian! Unless you’ve made your own of course 🙂 ) 

– Instead of coconut milk use hemp or cashew or almond milk. 

– Instead of coconut milk, use hemp or a nut milk and add one 100g pot of apple and pear baby food purée – it tastes soooo good trust me!

*these are just suggestions and personal favourites so experiment with your own flavours too 😉 

Leave a Reply

