It’s almost Christmas!!!!

I honestly can’t believe today is the first of December. Where did all of that time go? My flat is planning on doing a flat Christmas dinner this Sunday to celebrate 🙂 We haven’t managed to get decorations up yet but we’ve seen how festive F1 (two flats below us) has already got tinsel and fairy lights in the kitchen so the competition is officially ON.

Speaking of celebrations – I am now finally free of the Magdalen Chapter Hotel, although I will miss some of my colleagues. I will begin at the Ram Bar (student bar on site) next week which I am so looking forward to! I also have been paid finally by the hotel, which means I can get Christmas presents, hopefully get a new laptop (my current one is old, slow and dying!), and possibly go on a weekend away with Grace church. Who knows??

I went to Zizzis last night with the girls from my flat (minus Ellen, who had a Christmas party to go to) and it was so special. 

  
We also got a whopping 40% off all of our meals with my NUS card which was AMAZING. Mine only cost £8.60 in the end and the others’ were around £11-15 each! I totally recommend them. 

  

  
We then went around town snapping some funny pictures with all of the Christmas lights and Christmas trees on display 🙂 It also turns out that I’m not the only one having difficulties with some of the guys in our flat – most of the girls admitted that they didn’t like them either and that they were sad to hear about all of the pointed questions and jokes they make to me about my faith etc.

It’s been sooo windy down here in Exeter recently – almost as bad as those funny strong wind videos in Norway I’ve seen on Facebook recently. It’s not been too cold, but we’ve had some bitter northerly winds. Amazingly, my Raynaud’s seems to have cleared up. (For those who don’t know, it’s a circulatory condition where if you don’t regulate your body temperature then the blood flow gets restricted to fingers/toes/extremities and then once it goes back they swell up/go white/red and it can get itchy and horrid. Or they go purple. It can go away naturally or it can lead to further problems such as gangrene if it worsens. Lovely.)

But I don’t seem to have it anymore. Which is amazing. Literally, at this time of year I live, breath and sleep in finger-less gloves and ski mittens to try and keep my fingers warm, and double or even triple pairs of socks.

But this year that hasn’t happened, and even if it’s not that cold down here, often when its cold, then warmer, then cold again that can be the worst time. I’ve been walking around without gloves on over the last week – ok maybe putting them in my pockets occasionally – but they are fine!

We’ve been praying for this to go away for a while in my church back home and my family. So it’s a bit of a miracle – and it means going to Russia in the winter months is a bit more inviting! I also think my diet has helped. I eat very plant based at the moment, especially as I can’t really afford meat, and this has been known to help clear up heart disease and other circulatory conditions etc. So wow. Wowee. 🙂

I’m being a bit cheeky writing this now as I have a lecture in approximately 13 minutes…. but fortunately it’s in the forum on the ground floor which is only 8 minutes quick walk away. I do love to push things!

Until later!

 

Leave a Reply

