Housing, God and more amazing things

God is AMAZING.

Seriously, we have a house. Well, a flat. It’s amazing. Everything’s amazing right now 🙂 It’s more expensive than we’d hoped, (£123 per week, per person), but most houses are about that price anyway once bills are added, and our price includes bills. We are going to have a lovely flat with ensuites in every bedroom and a spacious kitchen which is close to campus. Although it’s not so close to town, or to Aldi, I do have a bike, and there are buses, and these things can be worked out next year. So we’re happy, we’re a lovely bunch with top quality banter in our Facebook chat already – and I can’t help but sit back and smile at how God has brought all of this about.

I feel like right now, through every big or little challenge, God is showing me how much he can provide and how much he has a plan, and is very much in the drivers seat. Obviously I am not always 100% confident and trusting – finances are a weak area with me in particular, just being honest! But I’m reminded again and again when I look back at just how good he is.

We have a house. For 5 people, that’s a miracle. Most fives have had to split up and find single places elsewhere, it’s that bad. But God provided us with a house, and has helped us pay the huge deposit, and will continue to help us next year paying the rent.

I’ve just got back from a really wonderful church weekend away with Grace Church. I feel so blessed to have joined it. I feel so much closer to not only the students but some of the adults (particularly in my community group/huddle), and the talks we had were really inspiring and encouraging for me. They talked a lot about forming communities where you are, finding people with similar passions as you and joining together to make that grow, God’s plan in your life, and so much more.

I’ve felt for a long time now that my family and I didn’t move to Spain for no reason all those years ago when I turned 9. I feel like we went so I could learn Spanish. So dad could too… but personally I feel like God has given me this love of languages through that experience. Somehow, without much practice, I was able to remember a lot of it – enough to get A* at GCSE (with some work, obviously, but not half as much as my other subjects). I taught myself GCSE French with ~1 & 1/2 hours of ‘lesson time’ a week a year early and got an A. I discovered that I love grammar, the way a language works, and the culture behind it. And I feel now more strongly than ever that my calling involves this passion, which is stronger than pretty much all of my other (many passions/hobbies/abilities) and that God is going to use it. I don’t know how yet. But that, I’m sure, will come.

Cornwall was great – we stayed in the Esplanade hotel at Newquay and it was practically on the beach. The dinner hall looked out onto the sea, which was stormy and grey and preeeettyy 🙂 

  
  
I walked to the end of the coast with Bethany (a friend from Community Group and church who’s a first year medic student at St Luke’s campus) and we (plus Esther, my future house mate next year) went into Newquay together with a bunch of adults to find food on Saturday at lunchtime, and then had a massive laugh over my hilarious Facebook feed for a few hours afterward (I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard in ages!).

I’m back and unpacked now, ready for week 4 (hopefully). Time to learn Future Aspect and other interesting things. Text-a-toastie is tomorrow night; its a CU (Christian Union) thing. Basically the hall group for Lafrowda makes chocolate or cheese toasties, and people from Lafrowda can text any question about Christianity to the number we put on the poster and then the flavour they want and we bring them a toastie and answer their question. So its an evangelical thing which is super fun 🙂

My little bro Daniel (Dan-the-Man) got baptised on Sunday back home in Worcester, which unfortunately I missed, although I got to watch a recording. I’m so proud. He’s growed up good. 🙂 He’s got a deep faith and he’s sturdy in what he believes – it’s hard to sway him. (Bit like me – the word I’m looking for is stubborn haha – but I think your faith is something it’s ok to be stubborn about!) Just so proud, and I’m sure my other siblings are too 🙂 I love my family ❤

News, news, do I have any more? Hmmm… Not sure but I’m super stoked for this week ahead 🙂 I think I’ll leave it there for now… this is quite a lengthy update, and I’m trying to cut down how much screen time I get before bed as I think it stops me switching off as easily. (Missing the hotel beds though… they were so good!)

Anyway, have a good week everyone! Happy Sunday (and first of February tomorrow).

 

 

Leave a Reply

