Red Lentil pancakes/falafel burgers

I’m not sure what to call these but they are so simple and yummy 😉

S’cuse the simple salad I don’t normally buy lettuce because my fridge freezes it and then you can’t use it! This time I got some romaine lettuce which fits in my fridge drawer instead and so far I’ve managed to eat it without problems!

I thought it was about time for another recipe post – this one only needs about 3 ingredients and it’s cheap 😉 you can add other things (which I’ll list) but they are good without! They are kinda more like falafel than pancakes due to the turmeric and coriander but I’ve eaten them for breakfast before!
Ingredients:

– 1 cup red lentils

– 1 tsp turmeric

– 1 tbsp coriander (I used dried)

– 1 tsp coconut oil

Optional:

– 1 tbsp lemon juice

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/2 tsp black pepper

Method:

Soak the lentils in 2 cups for a few hours or overnight in warm water. (I put them in water at breakfast at 7am and then made lunch at 11.35ish so four hours minimum).

Drain the lentils and place them in a food processor and blend until smooth, adding approximately a tablespoon of cold water at a time until it forms a paste. (I like mine to still have small chunks of lentils in so I don’t make it really smooth!).

Heat a non-stick frying pan (or normal frying pan and use the coconut oil).

Stir in the turmeric, coriander and other ingredients should you wish to add them.

Using a tablespoon, drop spoonfuls of the batter into the pan, and flatten with the back of the spoon – they should be about 3-4 inches wide and 1cm-1inch thick.

Cook for 1& 1/2 to 2 minutes until set and flip over. They should turn golden and the red colour of the lentils will dull a bit when they are done. They should still be soft in the center.

  

You can freeze them or just keep them in the fridge for a few days and heat them up in a microwave. Serve alone with salad, or in a burger bun, or whatever. However you like them!! Hope you like them as much as I do!!!

  
 
 

 

2 thoughts on “Red Lentil pancakes/falafel burgers

Leave a Reply

