Update Halfway through Term 2

There’s so much going on on campus at the moment I don’t think I’d be able to mention it all!!

Currently there are people campaigning to be the next student president, vice president, sports union president, treasurer… you name it. You get stopped by people in colourful t-shirts wielding brownies and cakes to try and persuade you humbly to vote, even if not for them, just to vote. It’s a nice atmosphere though. One of my friends has nominated himself too and he’s in a good place to get in, that’s for sure. There are also some funny campaign videos going viral. I think I’m just gonna read their manifestos and vote that way. Brownies do not move me. Even if they’re vegan!

I’ve begun renewing my love of break dance – we went out as a crew on Monday to this event called PHAT at a club called Cavern and it went really well. I managed to get the guts up to go into the cypher on the tiny stage myself and do a round.


 It made my voice a lot worse though – I lost it Monday morning and then on Tuesday I was all croaky 🙂 Wednesday it wasn’t good in the morning but got better through the day. So now all I have is a bit of a cough 🙂

Most people seem to be run down now, and I guess it’s mainly cos it’s the middle of term – week 5 – and it’s just when everyone gets ill.

My friend Jamie had to pull out of BUCS (gymnastics) this weekend – most of my Russian set has a cold.

I’ve really got into this series on Netflix called Heartland. It’s American and its about this family that lives on a horse ranch. It’s rekindled my inner dream to live on one when I’m older…. horses have been my favourite animal since I could say the word, even though I haven’t always been able to afford lessons. I’m thinking maybe in my year abroad I could spend some of it on a ranch in South America somewhere…. that would be a dream come true! But I’d have to brush up on my riding. So I’ve been looking around and at prices. We’ll see…..

I also need to keep my gymnastics up over the summer so I’m going to try and save a bit to help pay for membership for a few months.

Money, money, money….. God’s definitely teaching me a lot about it. About not worrying about it and where it comes from.

The ECU activities week was amazing too. So many students came to the lunch bars and evening talks and many gave their lives to Jesus which is just ACE 🙂 I got to host one of the team that came from Oxford to do the talks etc. and I and my friend Esther made her this Moroccan dish with chickpeas and she loved it 🙂 (Might post it later sometime!)

Anyway… must carry on working as I have lots of formatives and deadlines to meet next week!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

