It’s back to work I go…

Hello again! Time’s up – I’m going back to Exeter on Saturday… so I’m stocking up on staples I can only get this cheap (this easily) in ASDA and Aldi here in Worcester. Oats, brown basmati rice, lentils, potatoes, all of that goodness. Dad and I will go to Aldi on the way to the uni to get the fresh stuff and frozen veg/fruit which I love so much!!!

I’m gonna miss home.

I think I’ve put up with an awful lot this year and I don’t give myself a lot of credit for it. My flatmates are great people – honestly, I’m sure everyone has their good points, and I have a soft spot for all of them, believe me. But that doesn’t necessarily make them easy to live with. Long term. So I am kinda looking forward to living with friends next year instead – people I know better and get on with better.

The whole grill-a-Christian thing combined with several pointed, sarcastic comments and just the general lack of care for the flat (leading to low levels of hygiene in the communal kitchen, showers and toilets) and the lack of sleep at the weekends with drunk people screaming around the corridor by my room is kind of taking it’s toll. Also, I probably should have at least tried to go to CU every once in a while just to keep in with my Christian friends instead of going (or not going) to break dance. I mean, I love dancing, but I think this year I needed to make as many friends as possible and I felt like I missed out on hall group too often. But hey, I get a whole second year to catch up before I go travelling abroad so I’m just gonna make the most of it.

But these next few weeks seem like they are gonna take forever. *sigh*.

I’m just gonna keep active, go to church, revise (obviously – hopefully!) and try and keep going.

I have some shifts at the Ram so I’m hoping to save up over the summer to help pay my first rent instalment in September. I’m also still hoping to maybe au pair in Spain or work as an English teacher potentially so we’ll see about that. It would be great to have a paid ‘holiday’ like that. It would be a holiday to me because I would be speaking Spanish and living in Spain. WIN.

One of my best friends came to stay with my family this weekend and we went to my sister’s 18th birthday party together and boogied til late πŸ™‚ It was good to see her again. We have a really special friendship, me and Ellie, because we’ve known each other since we were born. Almost literally. She’s 5 months older, so she’s known me since birth anyway. Our mums were best friends before that for years, and we’ve lived in Spain together. Ellie lived there longer than me though – but it’s kinda cool to be able to switch into Spanish when you want to say something in private so no one else understands πŸ™‚

 

Me and Ellie πŸ™‚

 
 

Left: Beth, my lil not so lil sis, Middle: Harry, our uncle who is 4 months older than me, and Right: Me.

 
My other best friend Ruth was in town too, but she was writing reports and things because she has exams too. She goes to Glasgow university I think, and she’s studying prosthetics so she gets to make fake legs and things πŸ˜‰ Ellie isn’t at uni, she’s at the Message Trust as an intern – it’s a Christian trust or something which I think was set up by Matt Redman. (If you don’t know who he is – don’t worry – he’s this well-known Christian worship singer and songwriter). I went to Ruth’s house to help distract her from doing work for an afternoon which was nice – we caught up. We’re both quite bad at keeping in touch because we assume the other one’s busy, or we’re busy… and we just don’t get round to it. Last Christmas we weren’t even in Worcester at the same time I don’t think so we ended up completely missing each other.

The good thing is, with both Ellie and Ruth, we just start up where we left off. Which is great, really. Best buddies are good like that πŸ™‚

So yeah, anticipating exams and work and stuff. Just 5 weeks. FIVE. I will miss my family and how relaxed it is at home. And how clean. And the power shower. Which is also clean. Students out there – if you can afford it, go for ensuite. Trust me on this one. At least you can control the cleanliness of your own bathroom!

Anyway. Back I go πŸ™‚ 

  
 

Leave a Reply

