Let’s talk injuries

I’ve been banging on and on about all of these leg injuries I’ve had in various posts so I thought I’d explain a bit more about why I get them and maybe this might be something someone out there who reads this can relate to! 

I’m flat footed and slightly double jointed. This is because I’m naturally very flexible. (Thanks to my momma!) 

I’m also kinda petite, which means my knees naturally tend to knock together! 

These are a recipe for disaster if you love running because goodness knows what way your feet are landing when they hit the pavement. Not just once either, but several hundred times. 

This leads to injuries if you don’t have the right support. 

I think I mentioned a few posts back about getting new running trainers. (If not, well, now you know!) they are Nike (my first ever pair) and they replace my worn out old New Balance trainers which I’d basically lived in for the last 3 years. That includes running, walking, cycling and rowing in them. As you can imagine, they were pretty worn out! So I forked out the cash and found some improvement to my running… But my leg still felt like it was being worn out whenever I ran.


Suddenly, I realised that I probably needed to get checked out for some new insoles. The last guy I’d seen at the hospital had taken one look at me and said I was cured of my flat foot problem -that they had corrected themselves (which is impossible because it’s the way my feet just are naturally!) and he gave me some really low rise ones which were also very tired and worn out by the time I managed to get an appointment a few weeks ago with the orthotics department. 

I was kicking myself when I walked out of it. Of course it was my insoles. They were so worn they were practically doing nothing – this meant I was running and walking flat footed, and my legs were turning inwards as a result. This explained the weird strain I kept getting on the outside of my upper thigh, the sprains around my hips and the knee pains. What had I been doing to myself? :/

But anyway – the new ones are on their way – so in the mean time in just doing HIIT training (Insanity!) and it’s so much fun. It’s also really time efficient because they are only about 30 minutes long which is perfect 🙂

Moral of the story is : get your feet checked out. Especially if you are getting weird leg injuries over and over again which just can’t be explained! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Let’s talk injuries

  1. Wow thans crazy that your feet had corrected themselves? Maybe they knew it was causing the body more pain that was worth it. My legs are bowed which means my knees never touch, even if I stand with my feet together they’ll bend out the way – that probably has an effect of me too. Screw knees!! xx

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

    Like

    • I know right? The guy thought my feet had ‘got better’ which is impossible – especially as when I first went for insoles I was 15-16 years old, so any habit for the way I walk would be irreversible! Wow that must be annoying 🙂 Knees are weird haha 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

