Christmas! 

I’m finally getting to the end of the first part of my second year. My year abroad decisions deadline is this coming Friday, and exam week is straight after Christmas in January so we all know what I’ll be doing during my holiday! Yup – working! The good thing is that this Christmas I can still earn money doing deliveroo (they are going to transfer me back home) and babysitting/childminding… so I’ll be able to afford better presents for people hopefully 🙂 I love shopping for the best deals and bargains and getting things I know people will like. Some are more easy than others… for example, I know that my dad shares my love of dates so I usually get him the best dates I can find in Worcester (ASDA – in the Polish/international foods section, you can thank me later!). 

Going home as a student can bring up mixed feelings. I am so lucky to have come from a happy home and amazing family, who I love very much. But when you’re at uni, you kind of get into your own independent routine. The key word here being independent – although it’s great to go home to a clean kitchen, a dishwasher, sofas and plenty of free hugs, you know you’ll miss the independence of your uni home, being able do do whatever you want when you want and not having to wait for others.

It struck me that essentially, you can become a bit selfish at uni. I want to do this at such and such a time…. it’s easy to not have to consider other people and even just not see them for weeks! 

I think the key is to remember that in life you can’t always have what you want, and sometimes that means sacrificing your desires to put someone else first. It’s not easy, but without it your relationships can’t develop. It’s about loving people! 

And what better time of year to do just that? Christmas, for me anyway, is about love – God sending his only son into the world so that we can know Him and have a relationship with him, our Dad in heaven. So much love! 

I don’t really have a picture for this post – it was kind of strung together on the spur of the moment (like most of my posts in all honesty!). But I hope it helps someone out there 🙂 

Merry Christmas (or happy advent!) I may post again once I’m home – who knows? But ’til then, have a good holiday guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

