Getting a visa for Russia

You might have already heard a lot about the visa process. Personally, I’d only heard bad things! Especially about long queues in the office in London to try and get the application sent off. Let me tell you, getting your visa is a complete faff, but I guess you have to look towards the long term objective – getting into Russia – to keep your spirits up!

Now that you’re all feeling suitably discouraged…  😉

No joke, it did take me 2 hours to fill out my visa application form online. Apparently we only have to fill these out because we imposed them on Russian citizens coming to England, so it kind of makes sense that we would have to fill them out too. 
Before even filling out the online application, you have to have a visa invitation from your chosen uni. This for me was the Saint Petersburg State University. I’ll add a picture of my invitation in after my year abroad, but for now I think it’s better if I don’t share those kinds of details online while they are still valid! 

Once I’d got this (it came mid-July while I was working as an au pair in Spain) I used the VFS Global website to fill in and print off an online application. There are a lot of questions you have to answer, and fortunately the course I’m applying to do through RLUS (Russian Language Undergraduate Studies) offered a load of advice about what to answer for some of the questions on their website. When I actually got to the office, they said some of my answers were wrong because the criteria got updated very recently. You can’t really plan for this… it just means they will log into your application on the VFS website and change the details and reprint it for you then and there.

Oh, and DON’T forget to bring a passport-sized photo. They attach it to your application for you. You also need to bring your HIV test results printed out, and a letter from your university and proof of insurance. And your visa invitation, of course. DO NOT forget that please

Fortunately for me, a new office opened up to process your visa application in Manchester, and we happened to be on holiday up in Yorkshire, so Mum and I drove over to get it all done one of the days we were on holiday. The office was small and there wasn’t a big queue. We got there at around 10am so that might have been why it was quieter. The lady that processed my application was really friendly and nice. It didn’t take that long either – she just checked over my papers and clipped them all together. Then she scanned my fingerprints. You have to do each hand one by one with your last four fingers together palms facing down on the scanner. Then you do your thumbs together. 

She asked me to write the address I wanted my visa and passport sent back to on an envelope and that was it pretty much. 

A few important things to remember would be to make sure the photo was taken in the last 3-6 months before applying for the visa. The HIV test needs to still be in date for another 15-30 days after the visa application. Other than that, just make sure you brings absolutely everything with you, including your password for the online visa application.

This all happened yesterday so this is as fresh as I can make it! Hope that helps 🙂 

Ask any questions you might have in the comments and I will get back to you as soon as possible! 

Leave a Reply

